Texas is one of the popular cities in USA that has got many laws – one of which answers for how early can you get a marriage license in Texas. The Texas laws cover all areas of human concerns and cannot be said to be inadequate as crucially, the city is among those who maintain undiluted compliance regardless of who or what you are in the political or social sphere of the society.
Texas is a state in the South Central region of the United States.
Marriage in Texas
Speaking of marriage in the city of Texas, the law that covers that declares a very clear statement. It states all but three states require individuals to be of a certain age in order to get married, although these laws typically allow minors with extenuating circumstances to tie the knot.
For instance, minors (in most cases) can seek court approval for a marriage license if there is a pregnancy or a child involved. Marriage age limits are intended to protect young people from being coerced into marriage, but also to ensure that individuals have the maturity required for such a commitment.
Texas law permits individuals who have reached the age of majority (18) to get married without parental consent. However, those 14 and older may get married with the consent of their parents or legal guardians. In those instances, consent must be given within 30 days prior to applying for a marriage license.
In order to apply for a marriage license in Texas, visit your corresponding county clerk’s office. You will be asked for a valid, government-issued picture I.D. and will be required to pay $71 (or $11 for couples who attend the state-approved marriage education class).
Duration Before the Collection of Marriage License
Marriage rarely requires the help of a lawyer, unless there are unusual circumstances involved. And if you plan to sign a prenuptial agreement, it is a good idea to consult an attorney first.
Therefore, as part of the big plan to knowing the marriage legal status of Texas government and rule of law, especially in situations where you will have need for marriage license, digging deeply to knowing how early can you get a marriage license in Texas is not a bad idea after all.
In Texas, a 72-hour waiting period applies so you’ll have to wait for three days from the time you obtain your license to be able to have your ceremony. This three-day waiting period can be waived for active-duty military personnel and those with a written waiver from a judge or a waiver from a Twogether in Texas premarital counseling program. Blood tests, medical exams, and witnesses are not required in Texas.
Your ceremony must be performed within 90 days from the issuing date. If you haven’t gotten married before the expiration date you will need to purchase a new license. You can also get married in any other state or country that accepts Texas marriage licenses. Texas state law requires couples who are already married to still apply for a marriage license for a vow renewal.
1. Proof of Identity and Age
To get married in Texas, you have to be at least 18 years old and each party needs to have government-issued picture identification and proof of age. This can be in the form of a United States or foreign passport, driver’s license or ID card issued by Texas or another state, an original or certified birth certificate, or military ID card. Your forms of identification cannot be damaged, torn, or laminated. The marriage license will be prepared with your legal name exactly as it appears on your identification.
2. Proof of Divorce
Both applicants must not have been divorced within the last 30 days. If your divorce was finalized within the last 30 days you will need to present a certified copy of the divorce decree stating that a judge waived the 30-day waiting period.
Love doesn’t cost a thing, but a marriage license does. A Texas marriage license costs between $60 and $85 and this will vary according to the county. $100 is added on top of this for out-of-state residents. Texas strongly encourages pre-marital counseling and couples that do so with a Twogether in Texas-approved counselor can receive up to $60 off their marriage license fee. Note that some counties only accept cash as a form of payment while others only take credit cards to which a processing fee may be applied.
4. Social Security Number
Know your social security number for the forms. Some counties require the physical social security card, too.
Copyright Alert: Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. In the case of re-publication in online platforms, proper acknowledgment include, but not limited to LINK BACK TO THE ARTICLE And proper REFERENCING in research usage. All contents are protected by Digital Millennium Copyright Act 1996 (DMCA).
If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us via This Means to file a complaint & actions will be taken immediately.