Complete List of Higher Institutions In Ekiti State Nigeria.

Education is the most viable industry of the people of Ekiti State, hence the people are in the fore front of educational development in Nigeria.

Higher Institutions In Ekiti State

The complete list of higher institutions in Ekiti State Nigeria are divided into public and private category,  the public includes, Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State University, College of Education Ikere-Ekiti, Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti while private includes; Afe Babalola University and Ajayi polytechnic.

There are some schools established to cater for specific purposes like special school for science and technology.

List of Higher Institutions In Ekiti State Nigeria

There are eight higher institutions in Ekiti state, which includes three universities, three polytechnics and two colleges of education.

Federal University Ekiti State:

  • Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State

Federal University, Oye-Ekiti is a  public higher-education institution located in the rural setting of the large town of Oye-Ekiti. This institution also has a branch campus in Ikole. Officially recognized by the National Universities Commission of Nigeria, Federal University, Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE) is a medium-sized  coeducational Nigerian higher education institution.

Federal University, Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees in several areas of study.

FUOYE students come from across the Nigeria and throughout the world, representing diverse perspectives, experiences, backgrounds and cultures.

Official website:

State University in Ekiti State

  • Ekiti State University

Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti is a non-profit public higher-education institution located in the suburban setting of the medium city of Ado-Ekiti. Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti is officially recognized by the National Universities Commission of Nigeria.

Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti is one of the most selective universities in the world, accepting 1 out of 5 students who submitted the aplication. The academic year is traditionally consists of two semesters.

Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti is classified as a large university with more than 39,000 concurrent students. The admission committee accepts the applications from foreign citizens.

Official website:

Private University Ekiti State

  • Afe Babalola University

Afe Babalola University is a private higher-education institution located in the urban setting of the medium city of Ado-Ekiti. The university is officially recognized by the National Universities Commission of Nigeria.

Afe Babalola University was founded to reform functional education in the clime by providing and leading others in quality education, service, industry and character as well as discipline operates the collegiate system and has Five of such colleges.

It is the only university founded by an acclaimed educationist, the twice winner of the best Pro-Chancellor of all universities in Nigeria; A former Pro-Chancellor of the University of Lagos; Chairman of Committee of Pro-Chancellors of Nigeria Universities and member of the Club of Rectors of Europe.

Official website:

List of College of Education in Ekiti State

  • College of Education Ikere

College of Education Ikere-Ekiti is an institution of higher learning that offers range of corses in science and arts as well as e-learning courses in award of NCE honours.

The College was also to be unique in the sense that it would principally train Technical and Vocational Education teachers without neglecting academic areas of study.

To give respectability and acceptability to its programme, the College was affiliated to the then University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University) which eventually approved her courses and sponsored same for the approval of the National Joint Consultative Committee on education (JCCE) in February 1979. Thus, all programmes of the College were moderated by the University.

Official website:

  • Fabotas College of Health Sciences and Technology

Fabotas College of Health Sciences and Technology Ado-Ekiti is one of the newly emerging Colleges of Health Sciences and Technology in Nigeria.

The college which was founded on February 28 2011 was incorporated under the perpetual Act on June 26 2012. The sole aim of the establishment of the college is to train middle-level health personnels, who will assist tremendously in discharging health duties in all the nooks and crannies of Nigeria.

Official website:

List of Polytechnics in Ekiti State

There are three known existing polytechnics in Ekiti State, Nigeria. One of which was inherited from the former Ondo State.

  • Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti (Federal Government)

Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti was founded in 1977. The school is even older than the host state – Ekiti – which was founded in 1996.

The Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti is an educational institution for confernment OND/HND honours on the deserving students for various discipline.

Official website:

  • Ajayi Polytechnic, Ikere-Ekiti (Private)

The main essence of polytechnic education is to promote technical and vocational training and enhance the transfer of technology for the economic development of the country.

Ajayi polytechnic’s Philosophy, Vision, Mission and objectives are tandem with the national philosophy and objectives of technical education in Nigeria.

However. Ajayi Polytechnic (Govt. Approved) was founded to provide necessary training and appropriate skills that will make an individual to be self-reliant or be gainfully employed.

Official website:

  • Crown Polytechnic, Ado-Ekiti.

The mission of the polytechnic is conceptualized in a mission statement as follows: Crown Polytechnic will be a first-class manpower provider for the Nigeria Economy in the field of technology and management through the provision of a purposeful and qualitative Polytechnic education and training for the teeming Nigerian Youths; possessing the penchant for excellent and consistently adding value to training through innovation, research and scholarship.

Official website:


  1. Oluwabusayomi Owoeye

Leave a Reply