Top 10 Universities In Osun State (Fully Accredited).

Universities In Osun State- Osun is an inland state in south-western Nigeria. Its capital is Osogbo. It is bounded in the north by Kwara State, in the east partly by Ekiti State and partly by Ondo State, in the south by Ogun State and in the west by Oyo State. This region believe strongly in education as a driving force to have liberty. 

Universities In Osun State

There are many institutions in Osun state such as universities, polytechnic and college of education respectively. In this article, we only mention the top 10 universities in Osun state as well as the only list of available universities in Osun State Nigeria.

From the list Universities In Osun State on this page,  one university belongs to the federal government, one belongs to the state government while eight are privately-owned. These Universities are approved by NUC, they are presently the official accredited universities in Osun State.

Top 10 Universities In Osun State:

Below is the list of NUC approved Federal, state and private universities in Osun State.

    • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
    • Osun State University Osogbo
    • Adeleke University, Ede
    • Bowen University, Iwo
    • Fountain University, Oshogbo
    • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
    • Kings University, Ode Omu
    • Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State
    • Redeemer’s University, Ede
    • Westland University Iwo, Osun State

Federal University in Osun

1. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), formerly known as University of Ife, is a federal government owned and operated Nigerian university. The university is in the ancient city of Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria.

The university was founded in 1961 and classes commenced in October 1962 as the University of Ife by the regional government of Western Nigeria, led by late chief Samuel Ladoke Akintola, and was renamed Obafemi Awolowo University on 12 May 1987 in honour of Chief Obafemi Awolowo

State University in Osun 

2. Osun State University Osogbo

Osun State University is a multi-campus university established by Osun State Government under the administration of Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola.

The university currently operates six campuses distributed across the six administrative/geopolitical zones of the state.

Nigeria’s National Universities Commission approved Osun State University on December 21, 2006, as the 30th State University and the 80th in the Nigerian university system.

It has its campuses in Osogbo, Ikire, Okuku, Ifetedo, Ipetu Ijesha and Ejigbo which serves as campuses for Health science, Humanities and Culture, Social science and Management, Law, Education and Agriculture respectively.

Private Universities in Osun

3. Adeleke University, Ede

Adeleke University is a private faith-based learning institution located in a serene and nature friendly atmosphere in the historic town of Ede, Osun State.

The University was founded in 2011 by Dr. Adedeji Adeleke, through the Springtime Development Foundation (SDF), a philanthropic, non- profit making organisation established to assist indigent students to benefit from quality higher education.

4. Bowen University, Iwo

Bowen University is a private Baptist Christian Nigerian university owned and operated by the Nigerian Baptist Convention. Bowen University is located at Iwo in Osun State, Nigeria.

It is housed in the old 1,300-acre campus of the Baptist College, a teacher-training institution on a hill just outside the city.

5. Fountain University, Oshogbo

Fountain University is in Oke Osun after the Osun Osogbo sacred grove in Osogbo, Nigeria. It was established by the Nasrul-lahi-li Fatih Society in 2007. It is a privately owned Islamic faith-based university in Osun State.

6. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji

The Joseph Ayo Babalola University is a private Nigerian university located in Ipo Arakeji and Ikeji-Arakeji, two neighbouring communities in Osun State, established by the Christ Apostolic Church Worldwide

7. Kings University, Ode Omu

King’s University mission is to be a University, recognised for academic excellence and human capital development which impacts society economically, intellectually and socially.

All correspondence and enquiries should be directed to the appropriate officer(s) at any of the following addresses:



Addmission Office:


Tel: +2348150849479, +2348150846566, +2349030743744, +2348150846574

Or visit Admission Office


Administrative building,

Kings University, P.M.B. 555, Ode-Omu
Osun State.

8. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State

Oduduwa University is an innovative, forward-thinking university with high standards of teaching and research. OUI sits at the heart of one of Osun State’s most up and coming cities. They are fully licensed by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

The campus is perfectly located to ensure life-changing student experience. Go through their website and feel free to contact them should you require more information. They believe that ‘better future’ starts at Oduduwa University

9. Redeemer’s University, Ede

Redeemer’s University is a private university in Ede, Osun, off Gbongan-Oshogbo Road, Osun State, Nigeria. Established in 2005, the university is owned by the Redeemed Christian Church of God.

10. Westland University Iwo, Osun State

The long history of Westland University began Sometime in 1984, when the Proprietor of Westland University, Dr. Engr. Wole Adepoju, a structural Engineer graduate at MIT Massachusetts established the Cedarspring Technical Institute, as part of his contribution to the development and growth of technological education in Nigeria.

The establishment of the institute was also a demonstration of Dr. Engr. Adepoju’s commitment to assisting the numerous struggling youths to achieve their lofty aims of developing themselves and the country in technological advancement and innovations.


  1. Frank

Leave a Reply