List Of Universities Not Under ASUU In Nigeria

Universities Not Under ASUU – The main reason for researching and publishing this article is to provide information about the list of Universities that are not under ASUU in Nigeria.

Universities Not Under ASUU

I believe you’re aware not all Federal, State and Private Universities that are under ASUU, there are some Federal and State Universities that are not under ASUU strike in Nigeria.

Although information available on the ASUU website state that all Private Universities are not under ASUU strike.

Therefore, this article will  entails the list of Federal Universities, State Universities and Private Universities that doesn’t take part in ASUU strike action in Nigeria.

All the Universities we listed on this page are accredited by the Nigeria University Commission (NUC)The list we present is the latest list of those Universities in Nigeria do not go to strike for any reason.

And any  university you can’t find on this list is  part of ASUU. See list of Universities not under ASUU below:

Full Meaning of  ASUU.

The full meaning of ASUU is  Academic Staff Union of Universities, is a Nigerian union of university academic staff, founded in 1978.

The Union was active in struggles against the military regime during the 1980s. In 1988 the union organized a National Strike to obtain fair wages and university autonomy.

As a result, the ASUU was proscribed on 7 August 1988 and all its property seized. It was allowed to resume in 1990, but after another strike was again banned on 23 August 1992.

However, an agreement was reached on 3 September 1992 that met several of the union’s demands including the right of workers to collective bargaining. The ASUU organized further strikes in 1994 and 1996, protesting against the dismissal of staff by the Sani Abacha military regime.

  • Headquarters location: Ibadan
  • Founded: 1978
  • Affiliation: Nigeria Labour Congress
  • Type of business: Trade union

Note that our official list of Federal, State and Private Universities that are not under ASUU  are subject to the same oversight, regulation and accreditation, which means you will be getting the same quality education regardless of whether you opt for a federal-funded university or a state funded university or a private institution.

List Of Federal Universities Not Under ASUU In Nigeria

University of Nigeria, Nsukka and University of Ilorin are the only federal universities in Nigeria that doesn’t embark on ASUU strike.

1. University of Nigeria, Nsukka:

Official Portal: https://www.unn.edu.ng/

University of Nigeria, Nsukka

The University of Nigeria, commonly referred to as UNN, is a federal university located in Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria.

Address: Nsukka – Onitsha Rd, Nsukka

Number of students: 36,000

Motto: To Restore the Dignity of Man

2. University of Ilorin:

Official Portal: https://www.unilorin.edu.ng/

University of Ilorin

University of Ilorin, also known as Unilorin, is a federal government-owned university in Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria. It was established by a Decree of the Federal Military Government in August, 1975. For University of Ilorin available courses and UTME cut off click here.

Address:  No C2, Studiopedia, Off Ministry of Health, Fate Tanke Rd, behind Lgea Primary School, Ilorin

Founded: 1975

Total enrollment: 20,084 

List of State Universities Not Under ASUU in Nigeria

Delta State University, Abraka.

Delta State University, Abraka is the only state University that doesn’t embark on ASUU strike. DELSU is a state owned University in Nigeria that do not go on strike for any reason.

The Delta State University, Abraka – popularly known as DELSU – is a State government owned university in Nigeria with the main campus located at Abraka, Delta State and two campuses at Anwai, Asaba and Oleh.

The Oleh campus was established with the 1995 Amended Edict.

Is CRUTECH Under  ASUU?

Yes CRUTECH is under ASUU. CRUTECH known as  Cross River University of Technology is a state-owned tertiary institution with four campuses spread across four Local Government Areas of the state.

However, arising from an emergency congress held on March 11 2020, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), CRUTECH branch has resolved to join their counterparts at Federal universities to embark on a two weeks national warning strike to press home their demands. For this reason, CRUTECH is now officially part of ASUU strike.

List of  Private Universities Not Under ASUU

There’re 79 private Universities that are not under ASUU strike in Nigeria. See the full list below:

  1. Achievers University, Owo – http://www.achievers.edu.ng/
  2. Adeleke University, Ede – ttp://www.adelekeuniversity.edu.ng
  3. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State – http://www.abuad.edu.ng
  4. African University of Science & Technology, Abuja – http://aust.edu.ng/ 
  5. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan – http://www.acu.edu.ng
  6. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin – https://www.alhikmah.edu.ng
  7. Al-Qalam University, Katsina – http://www.auk.edu.ng/
  8. American University of Nigeria, Yola – http://www.aun.edu.ng/
  9. Augustine University – http://www.augustineuniversity.edu.ng/
  10. Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo –http://www.babcock.edu.ng
  11. Baze University – http://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng
  12. Bells University of Technology, Otta – http://www.bellsuniversity.edu.ng/
  13. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City – https://www.biu.edu.ng/
  14. Bingham University, New Karu – http://www.binghamuni.edu.ng
  15. Bowen University, Iwo – http://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org
  16. Caleb University, Lagos – http://www.calebuniversity.edu.ng/
  17. Caritas University, Enugu – http://www.caritasuni.edu.ng/
  18. Chrisland University – http://www.chrislanduniversity.edu.ng
  19. Covenant University Ota – http://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng/
  20. Crawford University Igbesa – http://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng
  21. Crescent University – http://www.crescent-university.edu.ng
  22. Edwin Clark University, – http://www.edwinclarkuniversity.edu.ng/
  23. Elizade University – http://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng/
  24. Evangel University – http://www.evangeluniversity.edu.ng/
  25. Fountain Unveristy, – http://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng/
  26. Godfrey Okoye University – http://www.gouni.edu.ng/
  27. Gregory University – http://www.gregoryuniversity.com/
  28. Hallmark University – http://www.hallmark.edu.ng/
  29. Hezekiah University – http://hezekiah.edu.ng/
  30. Igbinedion University – http://www.iuokada.edu.ng/
  31. Joseph Ayo Babalola University – http://www.jabu.edu.ng/
  32. Kings University – http://www.kingsuniversity.edu.ng/
  33. Kwararafa University – http://www.kwararafauniversity.edu.ng/
  34. Landmark University – http://www.lmu.edu.ng/
  35. Lead City University, Ibadan – http://www.lcu.edu.ng/
  36. Madonna University, – http://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng
  37. Mcpherson University – http://www.mcu.edu.ng/
  38. Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University – http://mciu.edu.ng/
  39. Mountain Top University – http://www.mtu.edu.ng/
  40. Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja – http://www.ntnu.edu.ng/
  41. Novena University, Ogume – http://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng/
  42. Obong University, Obong Ntak – http://www.obonguniversity.net/
  43. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State – http://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng/
  44. Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos – http://www.pau.edu.ng
  45. Paul University, Awka – Anambra State – http://www.pauluniversity.edu.ng
  46. Redeemer’s University, Ede – http://www.run.edu.ng
  47. Renaissance University, Enugu – https://www.rnu.edu.ng/
  48. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State – http://www.rhemauniversity.edu.ng/
  49. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom – http://www.ritmanuniversity.edu.ng/
  50. Salem University, Lokoja – http://www.salemuniversity.edu.ng
  51. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa. – http://www.sau.edu.ng/
  52. Southwestern University, Oku Owa – http://www.southwesternuniversity.edu.ng
  53. Summit University – http://www.summituniversity.edu.ng
  54. Tansian University, Umunya – http://tansianuniversity.edu.ng/
  55. University of Mkar, Mkar  – http://www.unimkar.edu.ng
  56. Veritas University, Abuja – https://www.veritas.edu.ng/
  57. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State – http://www.wellspringuniversity.net/
  58. Wesley University. of Science & Technology – http://www.wusto.edu.ng/
  59. Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State – http://wdu.edu.ng/
  60. Christopher University Mowe – http://www.christopheruniversity.edu.ng/
  61. Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State – http://www.koladaisiuniversity.edu.ng/
  62. Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State – http://www.aul.edu.ng/
  63. Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State – http://www.dui.edu.ng/
  64. Legacy University, Okija Anambra State – http://www.legacyuniversity.edu.ng/
  65. Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State – http://www.arthurjarvisuniversity.edu.ng/
  66. Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State – http://www.crownhilluniversity.edu.ng/
  67. Coal City University Enugu State – https://ccu.edu.ng/
  68. Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State – http://www.clifforduni.edu.ng/
  69. Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State – http://www.adun.edu.ng/
  70. Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State – http://www.spiritanuniversity.edu.ng
  71. Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo – https://pcu.edu.ng/
  72. PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt – https://www.pums.edu.ng/
  73. Atiba University Oyo – https://www.atibauniversity.edu.ng/
  74. Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences – http://www.ekounivmed.edu.ng
  75. Skyline University, Kano – http://www.sun.edu.ng
  76. Greenfield University, Kaduna – http://www.gfu.edu.ng
  77. Dominion University Ibadan – http://www.dominionuniversity.edu.ng/
  78. Trinity University – https://www.trinityuniversity.edu.ng/
  79. Westland University Iwo, Osun State –https://www.westland.edu.ng/

When ASUU Call Off Strike?

It was recently announced that  ASUU has called off its eight-month-long strike that has grounded academic activities in the public universities.

The union was said to have take this decision after it agreed to accept government’s total payment of N70 billion.

The was disclosed by ASUU via its Twitter handle on Friday after its meeting with the Federal Government’s team led by the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige.

It tweeted, “The Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, has shifted ground on FG’s offer. The Union insisted that payment of outstanding salaries must not be done as through the IPPIS platform as promised, if strike would be suspended.”

Therefore we can deduced that ASUU will acted on their decision to call off strike after the FG meet their demand by paying the agreed money. As soon as the payment is made ASUU will call off strike.

List Of  Accredited Universities In Nigeria

This is a comprehensive list of all NUC accredited universities in Nigeria in the latest released. There are  43 approved federal universities in Nigeria and they are:

1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University – 1988

2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria – 1962

3. Bayero University, Kano – 1975

4. Federal University Gashua, Yobe – 2013

5. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun – 2007

6. Federal University of Technology, Akure – 1981

7. Federal University of Technology, Minna – 1982

8. Federal University of Technology, Owerri – 1980

9. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State – 2011

10. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina – 2011

11. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State – 2011

12. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State – 2011

13. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State – 2011

14. Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, Ebonyi State – 2011

15. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa – 2011

16. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State – 2011

17. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State – 2011

18. Federal University, Birnin-Kebbi – 2013

19. Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara – 2013

20. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike – 1992

21. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola – 1981

22. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos – 2002

23. Nigeria Police Academy Wudil – 2013

24. Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna – 1985

25. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka – 1992

26. Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife – 1962

27. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada – 1988

28. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta – 1988

29. University of Agriculture, Makurdi – 1988

30. University of Benin – 1970

31. University of Calabar – 1975

32. University of Ibadan – 1948

33. University of Ilorin – 1975

34. University of Jos – 1975

35. University of Lagos – 1962

36. University of Maiduguri – 1975

37. University of Nigeria, Nsukka – 1960

38. University of Port-Harcourt – 1975

39. University of Uyo – 1991

40. Usumanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto – 1975

41. Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State – 2018

42. Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna – 2018

43. Nigerian Army University Biu, Borno State – 2018

Read more


Copyright Alert: Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. In the case of re-publication in online platforms, proper acknowledgment include, but not limited to LINK BACK TO THE ARTICLE And proper REFERENCING in research usage. All contents are protected by Digital Millennium Copyright Act 1996 (DMCA).
If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us via This Means to file a complaint & actions will be taken immediately.

13 Comments

  1. Faith Love August 11, 2020
    • School Drillers August 11, 2020
  2. Shegw September 28, 2020
  3. Rheetah November 15, 2020
  4. Atunde June 14, 2021
  5. Atondo Peter January 5, 2022
  6. Bright February 14, 2022
  7. Ekene March 4, 2022
  8. pablo March 26, 2022
  9. Dotun Ajibola March 29, 2022

Leave a Reply