COVID-19 Regulations of 2020 in Nigeria and the Quarantine Act

COVID-19 Regulations: On Monday, 30th March 2020, the President signed the Federal Government’s COVID-19 Regulations of 2020 which declared COVID-19 a dangerous infectious disease and granted a legal basis to the directives stated in the President’s address.

COVID-19 Regulations in Nigeria and the Quarantine Act

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab


Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari further addressed the nation on the Federal Government’s efforts to curtail the spread of COVID-19 within the country. In his address, he directed a cessation of all movements in  Lagos State, Ogun State, Oyo state and the Federal Capital Territory for an initial period of fourteen (14) days. Although, the cessation of movement in Ogun State was postponed until Friday, 3 April 2020, lockdown in Lagos and Abuja was ordered to commence on Monday, 30 March 2020.

This lockdown is to enable the government to track the spread of COVID-19 within these areas.. Citizens in these states have been directed to stay at home during the lockdown. Inter-state travel within these states are restricted and all businesses and offices within these states are fully closed during the lockdown period.

Leave a Reply