List of Institutions in Delta State with their Courses

Delta State, located in the southern part of Nigeria, is home to a plethora of educational institutions that contribute significantly to the academic landscape of the region. From universities to polytechnics and colleges, these institutions offer a diverse range of courses catering to the educational needs of the populace.

Here are some of the prominent institutions in Delta State and the courses they offer:

Delta State University (DELSU):

Delta State University, with its main campus in Abraka, stands as one of the foremost institutions in the state. Offering a wide array of undergraduate and postgraduate programs, DELSU covers disciplines such as Arts, Social Sciences, Science, Engineering, Health Sciences, and Agriculture. Notable courses include Law, Medicine, Accounting, Computer Science, and Economics.

Federal University of Petroleum Resources (FUPRE):

Situated in Effurun, FUPRE is dedicated to the study of petroleum-related courses. As the name suggests, it focuses on providing quality education in fields like Petroleum Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Geology, and Environmental Management. The university plays a pivotal role in training professionals for the oil and gas industry.

Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro:

This polytechnic, located in Ozoro, offers a variety of diploma and certificate programs in disciplines such as Engineering Technology, Business Studies, and Science Laboratory Technology. Students can pursue courses like Mechanical Engineering, Accountancy, and Computer Science to gain practical skills for the workforce.

Delta State Polytechnic, Otefe-Oghara:

Another key player in technical education, the Polytechnic in Otefe-Oghara provides programs in areas like Electrical/Electronic Engineering, Business Administration, and Computer Science. The institution focuses on equipping students with hands-on skills to meet the demands of the job market.

College of Education, Agbor:

For those aspiring to become educators, the College of Education in Agbor is a vital institution. It offers courses in Education-related disciplines such as English, Mathematics, Biology, and History. The college plays a crucial role in preparing individuals for careers in teaching and educational management.

Federal College of Education (Technical), Asaba:

Specializing in technical and vocational education, this institution in Asaba provides courses in areas like Technical Education, Home Economics, and Fine and Applied Arts. Graduates from this college contribute significantly to the technical workforce in the state.

Delta State School of Marine Technology, Burutu:

Located in Burutu, this school focuses on marine and related studies. Courses include Marine Engineering, Nautical Science, and Fisheries Technology. With a strategic location in the Niger Delta, the School of Marine Technology plays a vital role in training professionals for the maritime industry.

Delta State College of Health Technology, Ofuoma:

The College of Health Technology in Ofuoma offers programs in Health-related disciplines, including Community Health, Medical Laboratory Technology, and Pharmacy Technician. It plays a crucial role in producing skilled healthcare professionals to meet the region’s health needs.


In conclusion, Delta State boasts a rich tapestry of educational institutions, each contributing uniquely to the academic and professional development of its students. From the oil and gas sector to education, healthcare, and technical fields, these institutions play a pivotal role in shaping the future of the state and its residents. As Delta State continues to progress, the impact of these institutions on education and workforce development cannot be overstated.

Leave a Reply