Most Active Public Corporations in Nigeria.

Public Corporations in Nigeria on this page  is a carefully selected list of government owned establishments ever since the gradual run-down of NITEL Nigerian Telecommunications Limited and others due to the government’s lackadaisical concern which is also followed by the influx of foreign and private telecommunications companies.

Nigeria's Most Active Public Corporations of All Time

But then, we must first know what Public corporation means, their functions and essence in the society.

What is Public corporation?

Public corporation means an entity that is created by the state to carry out public missions and services. So as to carry out these public missions and services, a government owned corporation takes part in the activities or provide services that are also provided by private enterprise.

It should be recalled that Public Corporation is government establishment or enterprises set up by an Act of Parliament (or Decree or Edicts incase of Military Regime) to provide essential services such as electricity, postal services, pipe borne water, etc.

The aim is to render essential services at a very low cost.

Functions of the Nigeria’s Most Active Public corporation
  1. Generation of revenue for the government.
  2. Economic growth and development.
  3. Production and provision of essential services to the citizens.
  4. Provision of employment and job opportunities.
  5. Prevention of exploitation

Most Active Public Corporations in Nigeria.

These are the most active public corporations in Nigeria:

1. Nigerian Communications Commission NCC

The Nigerian Communications Commission NCC is the independent regulatory authority for the telecommunications industry in Nigeria.

The NCC was created under Decree number 75 by the [Federal Military Government of Nigeria] on 24 November 1992.

The NCC was charged with the responsibility of regulating the supply of telecommunications services and facilities, promoting competition, and setting performance standards for telephone services in Nigeria.

 2.Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation NNPC

The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation NNPC as one of the most active public corporations in Nigeria is the oil corporation through which the federal government of Nigeria regulates and participates in the country’s petroleum industry.

NNPC was established on 1 April 1977 as a merger of the Nigerian National Oil Corporation and the Federal Ministry of Mines and Steel.

The NNPC Towers in Abuja is the headquarters of NNPC. It also has an international office located in London, United Kingdom.

3. Nigerian Ports Authority NPA

The Nigerian Ports Authority is a federal government agency that governs and operates the ports of Nigeria.

The Nigerian Ports Authority started operating in April 1955 as a consequence of the implementation of the Ports Act of 1954.

The major ports controlled by the NPA include: the Lagos Port Complex and Tin Can Island Port in Lagos; Calabar Port, Delta Port, Rivers Port at Port Harcourt, and Onne Port.

4. Nigerian Television Authority NTA

The Nigerian Television Authority is a Nigerian government-owned and partly commercial broadcaster. It was first known as Nigerian Television NTV.

It is the first television station in Nigeria that began broadcasting on 31 October 1959.

Its first Chairman was Olapade Obisesan, a lawyer trained in the United Kingdom and son of Akinpelu Obisesan, an Ibadan socialite and first president of the Cooperative Bank of Nigeria. Its news mostly reports on government activities.

5. Power Holding Company of Nigeria PHCN

Electricity development in Nigeria began around the end of the 19th century when the first generating power plant was installed in the Lagos in 1898.

The Power Holding Company of Nigeria made settling customers monthly electricity bills easier by introducing bank revenue collection system to support the operations of the cash offices in PHCN premises.

Customers are no longer expected to travel far outside their immediate neighbourhoods to settle PHCN Bills.

6.National Bureau of Statistics (NBS)

The National Bureau of Statistics oversees and publishes statistics for Nigeria.

The National Bureau of Statistics NBS came into being with the merger of the Federal Office of Statistics FOS and the National Data Bank NDB.

It has a governing board which comprises of 15 members.

The Chairman of the Board is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Minister of National Planning Commission.

7. National Teachers Institute NTI

The National Teachers’ Institute, Kaduna is a single mode distance education institution dedicated to teacher training. It was established in 1976 by the Federal Government primarily because of the pressing needs in the country for trained and qualified teaching staff at all levels of the educational system.

Act No. 7 of 10th April 1978 establishing the Institute charged it among others with the responsibility of: providing courses of instruction leading to the development, upgrading and certification of teachers as specified in the relevant syllabus using distance education techniques.

The National Teachers’ Institute was established to manage the  affairs of the Institute  by the
council known as the National Teachers’ Institute Council (in this Act referred to as “the Council”) is a body of corporate with perpetual succession and a common seal.

The Council consist of a chairman and the following other members, that is-

(a) the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education of Nigeria or his representative;

(b) the Director-General of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria or his representative;

(c) the Director-General of the Nigerian Television Authority or his representative;

(d) two persons selected from universities in Nigeria;

(e) the Director of the Institute;

(f) two persons chosen on the basis of their individual contributions to the development of education in Nigeria;

(g) a representative from each State Ministry of Education; and

(h) a representative of the Nigerian Union of Teachers.

(2) The chairman and members of the Council is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Minister.

8. National Universities Commission NUC

The National Universities Commission of Nigeria is a government commission promoting quality higher education in Nigeria.

It is in the capital city of Abuja. It was established in 1962 as an advisory agency in the Cabinet Office and its first Executive Secretary was Professor Jibril Aminu.

Core objectives:
  1. Advise executive on the financial needs of universities.
  2. Coordinate the development of universities in Nigeria.
  3. Allocate and disburse federal grants and external aids to universities.
  4. Research and advice executive on topics relating to higher education development in Nigeria.
  5. Advice executive on creation of degree granting institutions.
  6. Advice government on creation of faculties within Nigerian universities
  1. Granting approval for all academic programmes run in Nigerian universities;
  2. Granting approval for the establishment of all higher educational institutions offering degree programmes in Nigerian universities;
  3. Ensure quality assurance of all academic programmes offered in Nigerian universities; and
  4. Channel for all external support to the Nigerian universities

These Most Active Public Corporations in Nigeria are managed and supervised by a board of directors appointed by the government for a specific period of time. The administrative head is usually known as the Chairman.


  1. Victor Madaki

Leave a Reply