List of Federal Universities that offer Psychology in Nigeria.

Federal universities that offer psychology in Nigeria group this course among courses in faculty of the Social sciences. Upon completion of this course in Nigerian federal universities, students are awarded a Bachelor of Science.

The duration to study Psychology in any Nigerian universities takes three to four years depending on your mode of entry into the university.

The federal universities that offer psychology in Nigeria  understands that discipline  is an interdisciplinary field that cuts across several other courses.

To make admission process and selection of institutions to study psychology easy for all aspirants, this information covers the list of best federal universities that offer Psychology in Nigeria, admission requirements, career opportunities and skills various fields under Psychology.

University Admission Requirements for Psychology in Nigeria.

To admission into any University to study B.Sc programme in Psychology, candidates are required to have at least five credit passes at SSCE/NABTEB/NECO/GCE or any other equivalent O’ level examinations.

Subjects must include Mathematics, English language, Biology/health science, and at least two other Social Science subjects from any of the following: Government, Economics, Geography, Civic Education and Social Studies.

Direct Entry Requirements.

  • Candidates seeking direct entry must have any of the qualifications below:

At least two A’ level passes in advanced level GCE or its equivalent in two of the following subjects: Mathematics, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Economics, Business Management, Geography, History and English Literature in GCE/IJMB

  • A Diploma from an accredited university in Nigeria.

All these in addition to UTME entry-level requirement.

  • UTME subject combination includes the English language, two other subjects chosen from Economics, Government and Geography, in addition to any other subject from the Arts/Social Science/Science subject.

JAMB requirements vary from one institution to the other. Ensure you check out the school in which you want to study and their specific requirements.

Career and Skills In Physiology

Students of Physiology acquire skills which are transferrable to other professions. These include:

  • Critical thinking and analytical skills.
  • Abstract reasoning
  • Knowledge of statistics

As seen above in the various fields of Psychology, graduates can function in various capacities and in various roles. The following are some job roles for psychologists:

  • Clinical psychologist
  • Counselling psychologist
  • Educational psychologist
  • Forensic psychologist
  • Further education teacher
  • Health psychologist
  • High-intensity therapist
  • Occupational psychologist/ organizational Psychologist
  • Neuropsychologist
  • Primary care graduate mental health worker
  • Mental Health Counselor
  • Marriage and children’s therapy
  • Teacher

List of Federal Universities that offer Psychology in Nigeria.

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU)
  2. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)
  3. Bayero University  (BUK)
  4. Federal University Gashua  (FUGASHUA)
  5. Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)
  6. Federal University, Birnin Kebbi (FUBK)
  7. Federal University, Dustin-Ma (FUDMA)
  8. Federal University, Dutse (FUD )
  9. Federal University, Gusau Zamfara (FUGUS)
  10. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State (FUKASHERE)
  11. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State (FULAFIA)
  12. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State (FULOKOJA)
  13. Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI )
  14. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa (FUOTUOKE)
  15. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State (FUOYE)
  16. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State (FUWUKARI)
  17. Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike (MOUAU)
  18. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos (NOUN)
  19. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK)
  20. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU)
  21. The University of Abuja, Gwagwalada (UNIABUJA)
  22. The University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)
  23. University of Benin (UNIBEN)
  24. University of Calabar (UNICAL)
  25. University of Ibadan (UI)
  26. University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)
  27. University of Jos (UNIJOS)
  28. University of Lagos (UNILAG)
  29. University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)
  30. University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)
  31. University of Uyo (UNIUYO)
  32. Usman Danfodiyo University (UDUSOK)
  33. Federal University of Health Technology, Otukpo Benue
  34. Federal University of Health Sciences, Azare, Bauchi State
  35. Federal University of Health Sciences, Ila Orangun, Osun State

One Response

  1. Samaila dasho Solomon

Leave a Reply