Definition of Islam Place of Worship

This article will be concentrated on the definition and Islam place of worship and it will further open your eyes to the religion and help you have a better understanding of the consistently growing religion.

Definition of Islam Place of Worship

Islam is no doubt one of the most popular religions in the whole wide world. Being a popular, it is relevant now to discuss the definition and Islam place of worship with you with such vigor and interest that will have allow have a clearer picture of all details of it.

1. What is Islam and Short History?

Islam means total submission to God. It is the second followed religion globally, with an estimated 1.9 billion followers. Islam followers are termed as Muslims. Islam emerged in the 7th century in Hijaz, the western Arabian Peninsula region. It was introduced by Prophet Muhammad, who was the last Prophet after Moses and Jesus in the Islamic faith. In Islam, a prophet means Allah’s (God’s) messenger.

The terms Islam and Muslim come from an Arabic word meaning submission. Therefore, a Muslim is a follower of the Islam religion and means a person who accepts and obeys God’s will. Muslims are found across the world. A worldwide community of Muslims is referred to as Ummah.

Muslims believe in one God and are thus monotheistic. The term used to refer to God in Islam is Allah. Allah is believed to be the creator of everything, and he has 99 names that describe his attributes. In addition, Muslims have an Islamic holy book called the Quran with 114 chapters and more than 6000 verses. The Quran is written in Arabic, and it mainly contains a collection of messages/revelations from God (Allah). These revelations were delivered to Prophet Muhammad through the angel Gabriel. Apart from the Quran, Muslims have sacred narratives known as Hadith. Hadith are usually short, and they contain information revolving around the life of Prophet Muhammad and his companions.

2. The Five Pillars of Islam

Islam has five pillars that are required to be followed by each Muslim. They form the basis of Muslim life, and in addition to worship, help a Muslim to attain salvation.

  • The first pillar is witnessing, also known as the Shahada. One must witness their belief in one God (Allah), and Muhammed is His Prophet. Anyone who converts to Islam must recite shahada. Shahada is also recited when offering prayers. It should also be the last statement a Muslim must say while dying.
  • The second pillar is prayers. Prayers are usually offered five times a day, and they contain some verses from the Quran. The prayers are offered to face the direction of the Great Mosque (Al-Masjid al-Haram) in Mecca. The prayers are offered at different times, i.e., at dawn, midday, late afternoon, sunset, and nightfall. A collection of these five prayers is known as Al-Salat/Salat/Salah.
  • The third pillar is almsgiving, also known as Zakat. Muslims have to offer a yearly tithe to religious officials or representatives in their Islamic state. This tithe can help the less privileged in society, help wayfarers, relieve debtors, and encourage Islam conversion.
  • The fourth pillar is fasting, also known as Sawm or Siyam Ramadan. Muslims are expected to fast during the ninth month of the Islamic lunar calendar, Ramadan. Fasting includes abstaining from food, sex, drinks, and some vices such as backbiting during the fasting hours. In addition, fasting plays a role as a purification act and a declaration of ethical awareness.
  • The fifth pillar is the pilgrimage to Mecca, also known as Hajj. If able, a Muslim is expected to visit Mecca at least once in their lifetime to perform certain rites. This happens during the first ten days of the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar, known as Dhul Hijjah.

3. Islam Place of Worship

The Muslim place of worship is referred to as a mosque. The term mosque comes from an Arabic word, masjid, meaning a place of prostration. A mosque is architecturally designed and decorated with Islamic figurative arts such as calligraphy, geometric patterns, and arabesque. It can also be defined as the Islam building of worship.

The area where the worshippers gather is known as the prayer hall. The windows and the walls of this area are decorated with geometric patterns and flowers, while the floor is covered with a well-patterned carpet.

There is also a special place on one of the walls that indicates the direction to face while offering prayers known as a Mihrab. The direction of prayers is known as Qibla. A mosque also has a slender tower known as a Minaret, where a person calls people for prayers.

A mosque also has a dome known as Qubba and a courtyard known as Sahn, where worshippers wash before offering their prayers. A courtyard complements the prayer hall and can also accommodate more worshipers.

Some constructive elements referred to as arches are used for decoration and structural support. Arches can either be pointed or horseshoe-shaped.

In addition, the congregation’s leader stands on a raised platform that has a ladder known as the Minbar, from where he delivers the speech. A religious leader in a mosque who leads people in prayers is referred to as Imam.

There are no seats inside a mosque, and the worshippers typically stand, kneel or bow while worshipping. Before worshippers enter a mosque, they take off their shoes as a sign of respect. Men and women do not mix during the worship, and each group has a special place where they offer their prayers. The congregational Mosque is usually on a Friday, also known as Jummah, where worshipers gather to offer their prayers. All male Muslims must go to the Mosque on Friday.

Types of Mosques

Generally, there are two types of mosques:

  • Congregational Mosques

A congregated mosque is also referred to as the Masjid Jami. This is where the Muslim community gathers on Friday to offer their prayers.

  • Privately Operated Mosques

A privately owned mosques are usually smaller and do serve certain groups in a society.

Leave a Reply