About Obi Local Government Area of Nasarawa State

Obi Local Government Area of Nasarawa State – Obi is one of the Local Government Area in Nasarawa State Nigeria. Nasarawa State is made up of thirteen Local Government Areas, namely, Akwanga, Awe, Doma, Karu, Keana, Kokona, Lafia, Nasarawa, Nasarawa Eggon, Obi, Wamba and Keffi..

The Local Government has an area of 967 km² and a population of 148,874 at the 2006 census. It other towns include Adudu Emirate, Agwatashi Chiefdom, Daddare, Obi, Tudun Adabu, Jenkwe, Duduguru, Musha, and Gude.

There are 29 languages spoken as first languages in Nasarawa State. Most languages are small minority languages. Major languages are Agatu, Basa, Eggon, Gbagyi, Gade, Goemai, Gwandara, Ham, Kofyar, and Lijili. One language Basa-Gumna is extinct.

The Obi Local Government Area of Nasarawa state speaks EGGON. They share language with other local government like Lafia, Awe, Akwanga, and Nasarawa.

Farming is an important economic activity in Obi Local Government Area of Nasarawa State with crops such as yam, onions, and tomatoes grown in the LGA. The LGA is also a hub for the rearing of a number of animals such as cows and rams. Other important economic activities of the people of Obi LGA include trade, hunting, and craftsmanship.

Obi Local Government Area of Nasarawa State is richly endowed with a variety of solid minerals of various categories ranging from precious metals to various gemstones and also industrial minerals such as barites, gypsum, kaolin and marble. Much of these are yet to be exploited. Statistically, the level of exploitation of these minerals is very low in relation to the extent of deposits found in this area.

One Response

  1. Suleiman Ibrahim Atanyi

Leave a Reply