List of African Countries Colonized by France.

List of African Countries Colonized by France highlights the countries in Africa who had once been directly subservient to French rule as French colony. France was once colonial master to many African countries which today imbibe and practice the its culture, language, and other ways of life through French assimilation policy.

Although the French had established a trade port on the West African coast as early as 1659 at St. Louis (present day Senegal), their participation in West Africa did not increase substantially until later in the nineteenth century. Their participation in the trans-Atlantic slave trade was always less significant than their European counterparts, especially the Portuguese, Dutch and British.

The French came to focus on gum Arabic, groundnuts (or peanuts) and other raw materials originating in the interior regions. The major slave ports, most active during the period between the middle seventeenth and middle nineteenth centuries, were located between modern-day Ghana and the Cameroons and were largely controlled by the British, Dutch and the Portuguese.

British and French imperialism in West Africa proceeded hand- in- hand. Throughout the nineteenth century the British and French were at work making contacts and solidifying their interests throughout the interior.

By the early years of the twentieth century the French held most of what would come to be their colonial territory in West Africa. This then would lead us to give out the list of African countries colonized by France as this information will help you identify which of the African countries can speak French other than their mother tongues.

List of African Countries Colonized by France.

Below are the List of African Countries Colonized by France and are till today speaking the French language and being controlled by French foreign policies:

  • Senegal
  • Mali
  • Burkina Faso
  • Benin
  • Guinea
  • Ivory Coast
  • Niger
  • Togo
  • French Morocco
  • Algeria
  • Tunisia
  • Mauritania
  • Chad
  • Madagascar
  • Mayotte (till now)
  • Seychelles
  • Djibouti
  • Comoros
  • Reunion (till present)

Leave a Reply