The Major Tribes in Niger State

The major tribes in Niger State, which was formed in 1976 when the then North-Western State was divided into Niger State and Sokoto State. This noble state is home to Ibrahim Babangida and Abdulsalami Abubakar, two of Nigeria’s former military rulers.

The most popular or developed cities or areas of the state are Minna (which happens to be the capital city), Bida, Kontagora and Suleja.

Niger state is named after the River Niger. Two of Nigeria’s major hydroelectric power stations, the Kainji Dam and Shiroro Dam, are located in Niger State, along with the new Zungeru Dam. The Jebba Dam straddles the border of Niger state and Kwara state. The famous Gurara Falls is in Niger State, and Gurara Local Government Area is named after the Gurara River, on whose course the fall is situated.

The state is governed by a Governor and a state House of Assembly. Under the current administration of Abubakar Sani Bello. The state has 25 local government each headed by local government chairman which are also divided into districts, each again with its district head while Villages are headed by village head throughout the state.

List of Schools in Niger State

Apart from the fact that Niger State is blessed with several natural resources which promise to make the state a glorious one, here are the many different tertiary institutions you can also attend in the school:

  • Federal Polytechnic, Bida
  • Federal University of Technology Minna
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
  • Niger State Polytechnic, Zungeru
  • Federal College of Education Kontagora
  • Edusoko University Bida
  • New Gate University Minna
  • Niger State College of Education Minna
  • Government Technical College Minna
  • Government Technical College Kontagora
  • Niger State College of Nursing Bida
  • Government Technical College Bussa
  • Government Technical College Eyagi, Bida
  • New Gate College of Health Science and Technology Minna
  • School of Basic Midwifery Minna

The Major Tribes in Niger State

The major tribes in Niger State are undoubtedly the Nupe, Gbagyi, Kamuku, Kambari, Gungawa, Hun-Saare, Hausa and Koro. All of these form the majority of numerous indigenous tribes of Niger State in the northern part of Nigeria. Here are some of the details you would like to have or know about them:

  • Nupe
  • Gbagyi
  • Hausa
  • Koro
  • Kadara
  • Kambari
  • Kamuku
  • Pangu
  • Bassa
  • Bauchi
  • Fulani
  • Dukawa
  • Gade
  • Godara
  • Ganagana
  • Dukawa
  • Mauchi
  • Ayadi
  • Ingwai
  • Dibo
  • Kadanda
  • Gulengi
  • Abishiwa
  • Shigini

Leave a Reply