Do you know the structure of University of Ibadan Governance?

the structure of University of Ibadan Governance

The structure of University of Ibadan Governance…..The University of Ibadan is an autonomous public institution with the general function of providing liberal higher education, and encouraging the advancement of learning throughout Nigeria. The legal basis of the University is the University of Ibadan Act of 1962, which transferred to the University the property of the former University College, Ibadan. Under the Act, the University consists of a Chancellor, a Pro-Chancellor, a Vice Chancellor, a Senate, a Congregation, a Convocation, all graduates and undergraduates of the University in accordance with the provisions made by statute. The Head of State is the Visitor of the University. The Visitor has powers to conduct a visitation of the University, at least, once every five years.


  1. The Council

 The Council is the supreme governing authority of the University responsible for those policy decisions which have financial implications, the general management of the affairs of the University, and, in particular, the control of the property and expenditure of the University. The Council has powers to do anything, which, in its opinion, is calculated to facilitate the carrying-on of the activities of the University, including the regulation of the constitution and conduct of the University.

 The majority of Council membership is drawn from the lay public and representatives of a variety of interests broadly representative of the whole Federation. Other members of the Council are the Pro-Chancellor (who is its Chairman), the Vice Chancellor and the Deputy Vice Chancellors, as well as representatives of the University Senate, the Congregation and the Convocation. The Registrar is Secretary to the Council.

 Council normally meets three or four times a year. Most of its work is therefore carried on, in-between meetings, by the Finance and General Purposes Committee and a number of other standing committees, including Buildings, Works and Sites, the Tenders Board, the Appointments and Promotions Committee for Non-Academic Staff, the Junior Staff Committee, Committee on Security, etc.

the structure of University of Ibadan Governance

  1. The Senate

 The formulation of academic policies, including the organization and control of all academic activities of the University is the responsibility of the University Senate. The Senate is the coordinating body for recommendation from the various faculties and departments. It consists of the Vice Chancellor (Chairman), all Professors, Deans and Heads of Department, the Librarian and representatives of Congregation. The Registrar is Secretary to the Senate, which meets every other month, usually on the last Monday of the month, during term.

 The following are the particular functions of Senate as stipulated under the law:

  • The establishment, organisation and control of faculties and other departments of the University,
  • The appointment and promotion of teachers at the University;
  • The organisation and control of courses of study at the University and of the examination held in conjunction with those courses;
  • The award of degrees and such other qualifications as may be prescribed, in connection with examinations held as aforesaid;
  • The making of recommendations to the Council with respect to the award to any person of an honorary fellowship or honorary degree or the title of professor emeritus;
  • The selection of persons for admission as students at the university;
  • The establishment, organisation and control of halls of residence and similar institutions of the University;
  • The supervision of the welfare of students at the University and the regulation of their conduct;
  • The grant of fellowships, scholarships, prizes and similar awards in so far as the awards are within the control of the University; and
  • Determining what descriptions of dress shall be academic dress for the purposes of the university, and regulating the use of an academic dress.

the structure of University of Ibadan Governance

  1. The Quorum of Senate Shall Be 20

 The work of the Senate is carried out through an intricate network of Committees including the Committee of Provost and Deans, the Appointments and Promotions Committee, the Development Committee, and its three principal sub-committee: the Academic Planning, the Finance and the Research Grants sub-Committees. Other principal Committees of Senate are the Academic Board, the Student Welfare Board, the Library Committee, Publications Committee, Work and Payments Committee, the Student Disciplinary Committee, Farm Management Committee, the Careers Board, the Board of Postgraduate Studies, among others.


  1. Academic Board

 There is an Academic Board of the College of Medicine, which controls the academic affairs of the College and is responsible, and subject, to the control of the Senate in all academic matters. It also exercises such of the powers of the Senate (including the appointment to, and promotion of, academic staff up to and including the level of senior lecturer as the Senate may from time to time delegate to it.

Members of the Academic Board of the College include the Vice Chancellor and the two Deputy Vice Chancellors, the Provost, the Deputy Provost, the professors in the College and the Medical Librarian of the College.

  • The persons for the time being holding such appointments on the staff of the College as the Provost may, with the approval of the Vice Chancellor, specify; and
  • Such number of academic staff not exceeding one-third of the number of the members of the Board, as the Academic Staff Assembly may, from among the academic staff of the college, elect.
  • The quorum of the Academic Board is twenty or one third of the total number of members for the meantime, whichever is the lesser.
  • The Provost is the chairman at all meetings of the Academic Board of the College when he is present and when he is not present, the Deputy Provost is the chairman of that particular meeting.
  • Any elected member, by notice in writing to the Academic Board may resign his membership.
  • The procedure for electing members is determined by the Board, and the member so elected holds the office for a period of two years, beginning with the first day of August in the year of his/her election. The individual is eligible for re-election in the year in which his/her period of office expires, such, however, that no person shall be such a candidate if at the end of his/her current period of office he/she would have held office as an elected member of the Board for a continuous period of six years or would have so held such office if he/she had not resigned it.


Leave a Reply